News Cymraeg
A34I2493e (2).jpg

With the 2019-20 having come to a close, Chris Venables' 22 goals for Bala Town were enough for the Lakesiders' frontman to pick up his fourth Golden Boot award. 

But how much more do you know about some of the previous winners of the annual award? 

We take a deep dive into some of the past winners of the league's top goalscorer award.

Steve Woods: 1992-93

The inaugural season of the JD Cymru Premier, then the League of Wales, saw Ebbw Vale’s Steve Woods pick up the gong. Woods netted 29 goals in 28 games as Ebbw Vale finished 4th behind Cwmbran Town, Inter Cardiff and Aberystwyth Town.

Ebbw Vale netted 76 goals that season, meaning the prolific Woods bagged almost 40% of his side’s goals during the 1992-93 campaign.


David Taylor: 1993-94

David Taylor’s 43 goals in 38 games for Porthmadog in 1993-94 is a record that stood until 2001-02 in the JD Cymru Premier. Porthmadog, despite finishing 11th in the league, scored 90 goals in the league’s second ever season, just five short of the league’s top scorers and title winners, Bangor City.

Taylor’s heroics for Port in front of goal were even enough to secure the European Golden Shoe, just one year after Ally McCoist won the award.

It was Taylor’s only season at the club as he  left for Inter Cardiff the next season, before playing for a host of other Welsh domestic clubs.


Frank Mottram: 1994-95

Mottram has had a lengthy career in the domestic game, but the height of it might have come in 94-95 when his 31 goals for Bangor City led them to the domestic title and qualification for the UEFA Cup Preliminary Round, some nine points clear of second placed Afan Lido.

Mottram later joined Total Network Solutions and then Macclesfield, before returning to Wales where he played for a host of clubs including Welshpool Town, Caernarfon Town and Guilsfield.


Ken McKenna: 1995-96

1995-96 winner Ken McKenna had a lengthy career in the English system before he linked up with Conwy United. Having been at Tranmere, Telford, Runcorn, Altrincham and Barrow, it was not until he was 34 that McKenna joined Conwy.

But he had an instant impact and in his second season he fired in an impressive 38 goals in 35 games en route to the award.


Tony Bird: 1996-97

Tony Bird’s 42 goals in 30 games is the third highest in the league’s history– when Bird and the prolific Barry Town team won the league with 105 points in 1996-97.

Bird joined Barry after his release from Cardiff and subsequently enjoyed a successful spell with Swansea City following his time at the Linnets.

His 42 goals was an European high during that season, but after a new points system was introduced, he lost out on the European Golden Shoe to Barcelona’s Ronaldo, who had netted 34 goals in the same season.


Eifiion Williams: 1997-98, 1998-99

Unbelievable Barry Town! Some believe this to have been one of the best squads to have ever graced the JD Cymru Premier. Despite not beating last season’s record of 105 points, the 1997-98 Barry Town team went the season unbeaten.

His 40 goals in 97—98 and 28 goals in 98-99 saw him earn a move to Torquay United and later Hartlepool United.


Chris Summers: 1999-00

Summers is a well known name in the domestic game, as his 177 goals in the top flight ranks him as one of the league’s all time prolific scorers.

But Summers secured the top scorer award just once in his career – at the turn of the millennium whilst playing for Cwmbran Town.


Graham Evans: 2000-01, 2002-03, 2003-04

Caersws’ Evans has picked up the award an impressive three times. In 2000-01, Evans bagged 25 goals and subsequently 24 goals in both 2002-03 and 2003-04 as Caersws narrowly missed out on European qualification.

Evans later secured a move to Hereford United, but then returned to the domestic game in 2006 when he joined The New Saints.


Marc Lloyd-Williams: 2001-02, 2004-05

The JD Cymru Premier’s all-time top scorer with 319 goals, Marc Lloyd-Williams has enjoyed a glittered career in the game.

His 47 goals still stand as a league record as Bangor City qualified for the UEFA Cup. Despite a spell with Southport following two years with Bangor, Lloyd-Williams returned to Bangor before joining Aberystwyth and later TNS, where he picked up the award for a second time, as the club picked up their first title since their maiden win in 1999-2000.


Rhys Griffiths: 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12

Rhys Griffiths will go down as arguably one of the most relentless strikers in the league’s history. Seven consecutive Golden Boot awards is something that no player in league history has ever come close to matching.

After picking up his maiden award with Port Talbot Town, Griffiths won his next six awards with Llanelli Town.

In 2012, Griffiths joined Plymouth Argyle and later Newport County before returning to the domestic game, where he would later become a coach with Penybont. Griffiths secured promotion with Penybont last season and secured their safety in the top flight this season.


Michael Wilde: 2012-13

Michael Wilde has now picked up eight JD Cymru Premier titles and has one Golden Boot award to go with it. The New Saints have been the dominant force in the domestic game for a number of years and Wilde played a crucial role in their dominance.

In 2012-13, the club won the title by 22 points and Wilde’s 25 goals during the season were crucial to their success.


Chris Venables: 2013-14, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2019-20

Venables has been a staple of the JD Cymru Premier for a number of years and his form in front of goal over the last few season has made him one of the most valuable players in the domestic game.

The frontman started at Caersws, before joining Welshpool and later Aberystwyth Town. He later joined Llanelli Town, but returned to the Seasiders where he then picked up three consecutive Golden Boot awards.

He then joined the Lakesiders, Bala Town and after switching to becoming a number nine this season under Colin Caton, the forward has re-gained the award with an impressive 22 goals.


Jason Oswell: 2016-17

Oswell left an indelible mark on the JD Cymru Premier in his three season with Newtown. The centre-forward 40 goals in three season in the top flight with the Robins, securing the award for the league’s top scorer in his final year in the league.

A move to Stockport County gave Oswell the platform to perform in the English game and his 25 goals in the National League North saw him earn a move to Wrexham after just one season.


Greg Draper: 2017-18, 2018-19

The one time capped New Zealand international has left his mark in Wales’ top flight since joining The New Saints in 2011.

Having won eight titles in his nine seasons in the league, Draper has been a crucial aspect to The New Saints’ attacking force. His form in front of goal in the last few seasons have been remarkable, as he bagged 22 in 2017-18 and 27 in 2018-19 as the club secured domestic success.

The frontman finished just behind Venables in the race for this year’s Golden Boot.

Related News


JD Cymru Premier | Friday night preview

All six JD Cymru Premier fixtures this weekend take place on Friday night, with plenty of intriguing battles to look forward to.

Read more

Match Official Appointments | 2 December

Match officials for this weekend’s Cymru Leagues fixtures have been confirmed.

Read more
2022-08-13 Cardiff Met v Connahs Quay-117.jpg

Connah's Quay Nomads will take nothing for granted in Nathaniel MG Cup says Neil Gibson

It has not been a bad few weeks for Neil Gibson. His Connah’s Quay Nomads side are currently on a 12-match unbeaten run, he was named the JD Cymru Premier manager of the month for October and has been rewarded with a new two and a half year full time contract at Deeside.

Read more
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now